Three Days Of Darkness, A Mayan Story As Told by Ms. Juana Cowo

“My Granny was scolding we children when we was very young… she told us we knew nothing of the challenge of the darkness. She said when she was very young, she and all the people woke up to no sun. She said she was so frightened for it was very dark without the sun and also too cold. She told me and my brothers and my sisters and my cousins that we take too much for granted, that we take for granted the sunshine and the moonshine, but that we would never do this again when we had lived through the three days of darkness.

Granny said that the elders knew right away what to do in this time of no sun and no light. That this time had always been prophesied by the elders and had happened many, many times before. The wise people always prepared for this darkness by saving the old tortillas (corn tortilla chips). And so the elders began to build the fires, for the fires must be lit or the darkness can drive some to madness. And the people began to pray together and sing together and burn the tortillas together for this is the sacred food that the Gods desire. Granny says that the smoke of the tortilla carries the message to the Gods to please bring back the sun.

My Granny said that when the people become too wicked, when we forget to worship the Gods and have respect for all life, that the Gods block out the sun to remind us of the sacred ways and the importance of worship and of gratitude for life. She said that for three long days, the villagers prayed and prayed and prayed together and to cease their hunger, they not only burnt the tortilla but also ate it. She said that the h’men (the shamans) would begin to get excited and happy as they felt their prayers being received and then the darkness would lift. She said in her time it took three long days but that she had heard stories of the darkness taking longer to leave. She said the Gods only return the light when enough people were praying in earnest.

My Granny said the darkness would come again because it always comes, because the people always stray far from their Creator and must be reminded time and time and time again… My Granny told us to behave well with good intentions. She told us this story to keep alive the memories and the knowledge of what to expect and of what to do. And so right now I save my old tortillas and I gather my firewood and I prepare my children and grandchildren with the stories because my body tells me that the time is almost here.

Daily I hear of stories of the crime in my country, the violence, the murder, brother against brother. I hear stories of war and violence and hunger in our world and I know the time has come for the Gods to humble us people once again. I go to church each week to worship my Gods and the church sits empty. All the people are not at church but everyday they have money for the bars, for the drink. This is bad medicine. And so I know the darkness must come and I can only pray that enough people will pray through that darkness that it may be over in three days or less. This is my prayer, let the people remember their Creator and humble themselves to live in peace once again.

Afterthoughts: My Granny also said that before the event occurs, one or a few of the villagers will dream the event and that even though the darkness is overwhelming, it is also beautiful. She says all the forest animals come to sit with the people, none are hunting each other down, they are simply sitting, bidding their time in the darkness with the humans. She says to witness everyone in prayer is a moment of magic and grace and beauty.”

Ms. Juana Cowo is a Mopan Maya of Belize. She was my midwife for the birth of my fifth child. She is my family herbalist through sickness. She is a bone setter. She has grown up in the Maya village of San Pedro de Columbia in Belize on tribunal land but now resides on the island of Caye Caulker where she works as a massage therapist at my Spa and the village midwife for those few women who choose this method. She is a very special, simple and pure woman and the above story is a true story as told to her from her long departed grandmother. I believe this is a story told to children so that they will grow up to behave with integrity. I understand this to be an oral story passed from one generation to another. Ms. Juana does believe that this truly happened to her grandmother.

Recently two urgent messages have been released from the indigenous elders. One was from Little Grandmother, Keisha Crowther saying to all lightworkers to “wear a quartz crystal”. She gave no explanation as to why, she only stressed that it is of utmost importance. A second urgent message came from Golden Light Eagle saying that we must prepare ourselves now. “Things will be difficult in the very near future, but we can do something about it…start drying foods and saving water and so on. We should not wait for anyone. Don’t wait for anyone. He also said that the Spirit mentioned ‘the darkness’ is a place of ceremony for them, a place of healing. We are to stay in Love & Compassion.”

And as I complete this article a third urgent message comes to my mind. The Maya High Council said to watch for the missing magnetosphere. Well, a certain site that tracks the magnetosphere says it has been going crazy in the last month, doing things it has never seen and the scientists fear it may collapse soon. http://www2.nict.go.jp/y/y223/simulation/realtime/
The Maya High Council also said to watch for the magnetic polarity shift into Russia. This has actually been reported on yahoo news, one of the most mainstream venues for reporting news.(http://www.scientificamerican.com/blog/post.cfm?id=why-is-the-north-magnetic-pole-raci-2010-12)

And so be it. The prophesied 3rd shaking is imminent! This earth birth, our labor, which was destined to start in March 2011, has actually begun early. May the Gods be with all of us through this challenging part of the journey to the new world.

In La’kesh,
Navajo

19 thoughts on “Three Days Of Darkness, A Mayan Story As Told by Ms. Juana Cowo

  1. Dragonfly says:

    Thank you for giving us these messages.

  2. Alicia says:

    I feel like I go through the darkness every year around the winter solstice already. The days are so short and the sun doesn’t shine and for the only time all year the power (which is solar and wind) in our earthship home unexpectedly conks out during a bout of boxing on the wii on the big-screen tv! We know we are spoiled thanks to the sun and now we will start saving our tortilla chips…..

  3. Deerwomon says:

    The light peeks out during this season but potent the sun is with the wisdom and love showering down upon us. We are many now acknowledging the light we are, the light we come from and the light we shine on our brothers and sisters and Mother Earth. Everyone know yourself as a conduit of the great love from our Starry Council and open your channels to let it sail into the Mother. We are in the lead and no one is looking back! Our great adventure of learning from pain and suffering is over. We are all going home….aaaaaah….what beauty and grace we are! We are the gentle loving people and I send my light out to each and every one of you….breathe….feel me, feel yourself….feel each other….aHo!
    Deerwomon

  4. Gary Jordon says:

    I can’t help but wonder what do these various elders say about electrical energy? Here in the states the sky glow from all the street and outdoor lights have made the night not quite as dark as our ancestors knew it to be. Also city dwellers in many North American locations don’t have access to a fireplace or a place to have a communal bonfire. What shall these people do? I hope that someone will answer these questions so that I may give good answers to those who might ask me what I do know.

    • mayasoma says:

      The Catholics have this prophecy, probably purloined from the Maya codices, about the three days of darkness- they say to stay indoors with windows and doors locked, with candles burning and praying, praying, praying…
      Imagine in a city, total fear, chaos and violence, so I guess this is sound advice!

      • Gary Jordon says:

        Yes it would seem very sound advice. I am also finding that the comtemplation of all the things that we take for granted in the so called “developed” world. It amazes me how we depend on our magnetics to get our electricity to work and on all the things we use to need electricity. This would include many life saving and prolonging devices such as respirators.

        Another outcome is how much lights we have all around us and don’t even realize it. I’m not just talking about light bulbs of one kind or another. I’m thinking like tvs, computer screens, and cellphones. I can’t imagine most people handling just starlight for three days. Bonfires and candles will be very precious during those three days.

        I do however have another question that someone might be able to answer. Will are devices including simple light bulbs work once again after the magnetic flip or will they remain useless afterward.

    • amy says:

      I live in a city. I built a fire pit in the ground in my tiny garden….rocks on the ground and everything. My neighbors will not let us burn anything in it anymore so we filled it in with dirt but it is still right there. We have grill covers so we can cook over it. But hurricanes wipe us out a lot so you have to get pretty creative and work together. Last time we had no electricity for a month, people came together and helped and the storm was not one where we expected such extensive outages. After week two we assumed electricity was not coming back ever. It was not fun but it was not horrific either and we figured it out. We have big dogs for security so we did not have mean people with bad motives coming around at all. We also live near a bay and the ocean so you can fish and most people here fish and know how etc. Our main problem is water – we need to have rainwater collection because we don’t have any real water sources that are not salt ocean water. But the sailboats have hand crank desalinators for emergencies and they clean 1 gallon an hour which is better than nothing and they are not too, too expensive so we were thinking of getting one of those. We also now are saving two weeks worth of water in the house at all times in case we have a power outage that was unexpected. That happened once for three days and it was chaotic because there was no storm or anything. Just a major mechanical failure at the electricity plant. Lots of car wrecks for the first few hours of that. But I don’t have a car so I was just in the house and heard it all. Boy was it hot though. And the sweaty heat made everyone a little crazy.

  5. irabana says:

    i’m saving tortillas then…

  6. mayasoma says:

    For over a decade I have been hearing ( and agree with) the theory that as the Earth’s vibrational frequencies rise, her magnetics will decrease. THIS IS A GOOD THING. THIS IS WHAT WE HAVE BEEN AWAITING FOR EONS. Certainly it will totally fuck up the functional ability on the planet, but, my God, nothing works on the planet any more anyways unless you are disgustingly wealthy and powerful.
    One of the best articles I have ever read on the subject of magnetics appears on the Kryon website. (Click on epublications, then articles.) It is an interview of Gregg Braden by Wynn Free about the Shift Happening Now, from 2007. He talks about the Apollo astronauts, and how they were affected by leaving the Earth’s magnetic field. Those who were prepared used the huge opening of enlightment and consciousness to make positive changes, such as Edgar Mitchell, who founded the Institute of Noetic Sciences, while others could not handle the sudden shift, and turned to drugs and alcohol. Please read this informative article.
    Many “experts” are predicting that very soon ( I personally believe it is beginning now) that all of humanity will experience this sudden shift into enlightment. Contrary to most opinions, however, I do not believe that this is going to suddenly make all of humanity loving and conscious. I actually think that it will be the trigger to the most massive extinction of a species (human), since the extinction of the dinosaurs, for the reason stated above, because the vast, vast majority of the population has not even begun to prepare. That is OK. Death is OK. They will continue their process of the karmic cycle of death and reincarnation on another planet similar to the old Earth until they are ready to move forward, but they will never be allowed back here, because the Earth herself is also undergoing ascension, and will no longer be able to support those who have not raised their vibrations. (Or else WE will be leaving the planet to inhabit a higher form of planet Earth.) It doesn’t matter which. It will all work out. The point is, the conscious and the unconscious will no longer be able to inhabit the same planet.
    Braden has other ideas, which correspond to your three days of darkness, where everybody will sleep, then awaken to have their old consciousness erased. That may be true, too, however, I still think there needs to be a mass extiction, because there are way too many people on this planet. Earth was never meant to accomodate such a large population.
    I also offer my own theory on the three days of darkness: If (when) the magetics of the planet drop to near zero, or at least beyond a certain level, nothing electrical will work. We will have a global power outage, which includes vehicles and all forms of communication. This WILL drive many to madness. People have become dangerously and negatively addicted to communication. No matter where you go, people have cell phones glued to their ears while they’re clutchng their laptops. The “Darkness” will force people to turn to themselves for support, to seek the Light within, although most will not.
    In any case, I have a strong feeling about 2011., that this will be the year. . . I am ready.
    L.C.

    • mayasoma says:

      The above comments were submitted to me by email from a reader named Laughing Crow… with her permission I have reprinted the comments here as I found her opinion crucial, she also states, “Well, citing the Kryon article is certainly OK–that is available for anyone, obviously. As far as my personal thoughts, you may post them provided you make it clear that they are only that–personal thoughts, although I feel I am qualified because I have been working on Ascension for over 30 years. The problem that is happening now is that, with the internet being so easy to access, any old asshole can post whatever they please, and there are enough truly DUMB assholes out there that take all this bullshit as gospel truth, especially what the so-called experts write (and I am finding that THEY are the ones whom I question the most, because it has become an industry and livelihood for them to write what brings them the most clients.) Basically, at this point, I feel there is less truth out there than was two decades ago. It’s like that game called “gossip” where you whisper something to someone, then they pass it on to the next person and so on, and when it gets to the last person, the message is so distorted from the original that it bears little resemblance. I feel that is where we are now, and that is why I deleted my own website, and also why I think a global power outage is not only OK, but necessary to retore peoples’ ability to think for themselves. We really have become a Tower of Babel (babble!!). And I also believe that, contrary to what the “experts” say, no two people are experiencing this ascension process the same way. I think the Reptilians engineered it this way
      and are having a good laugh.
      So, having said all that, you may use what you like, quoting credits to me, and be sure to state what I have written in this letter to further qualify my opinion.
      Talk later. . .”
      L.C.

  7. And this is a sacred Time to remember, with deep assurance and without fear,
    that only Winter holds the Heart of Spring. May the blessings be!

  8. The night before I read this my husband was talking about the darkness, later I woke up in the night wrote this and back to bed….

    The Pinnacle of Time

    In the pinnacle of time, this is the pinnacle of time.
    The point of time.

    Changes are coming, core changes- and fast.
    Fast like faster than our comprehension.
    Fast like today is yesterday already.

    Alignment and Faith are absolute.
    Meditation a must.

    Be in your Guru Haridya Manas
    Anahata, Living in Love.
    LOVE.

    Erase fear. Live present.

    Give respect to the Father Creator, Mama Earth Moon Sky, and the Sun Spirits
    Jah RastafarI

    Wear your crystals.
    Plant your seeds.

    Prepare for Love and Darkness.

    Magical darkness embraced.
    More mystical than dancing in the moon light
    Give back, Create light,
    HEAL,
    Root, and Rise
    into BLISS.

    Return the ever present inner light, soul shine to the Earth.

    Prepare for darkness by eliminating fear.
    Fear is lack of love,
    unloving,
    not in love, not in Faith.

    Connect with love through your heart center
    Anahata Chakra.

    In silence is Bliss.
    Meditation.
    Turn off the outside.
    Listen and feel. Receive.
    Meditate to the rhythm of your heartbeat.

    Make changes in your life now.
    The time is NOW.
    The pinnacle of time.
    This is manifest destiny.
    The present is the future.
    Do not look beyond. See NOW.

    Till the Earth.
    Plug in. Know yo Mama!
    Plant the seeds.
    Dry your corn. Sweat the rice. Sun your beans.
    Where do your herbs grow?
    Where are your crystals?

    Were you grateful today?
    Give thanks.
    Generate LOVE.
    Send it out.
    Love the Earth.
    Love creation.
    Study creation.
    Love the light. Embrace the shadow.
    Carry and shine them both within- emanate out.
    Keep your faith in love as you
    ROOT AND RISE.

    Sorry it’s a bit long but I felt compelled to share the message here.

  9. Bryson says:

    Where I live a child told his mother about this three days of night. The child has never herd of such thing, but yet knows of it. Yes it is very true to be one of the prophecies to come soon, we must carry this on to others and not be afraid for fear is one to linger at the time.
    It is said that demons will try to take over people. The time to change our ways of living in sin is now, turn to our Creator for help, for he is loving

  10. joe says:

    I have dreamt of the 3 days of darkness 3 times in the past few weeks. I felt like the most recent dream was a very real warning. One that I cannot ignore any longer. I am actually beginning to prepare my house, my children, and extended family for this. Blessed candles, holy water, window coverings, etc.. I felt like Jesus was telling me, ‘Your not ready! The time is now! Dont delay. Prepare today!’. I’m going to heed these warnings. In each dream I was not ready.

  11. earthing says:

    earthing Pretty Cool. I seriously like your website. Wide range of good information and facts. Thanks for sharing. earthing

Leave a Reply

